Security Systems News

AUG 2017

Security Systems News is a monthly business newspaper that reaches 25,100 security installers, product distributors, central stations, engineers & architects, and security consultants. Our editorial coverage focuses on breaking news in all major se

Issue link: http://ssn.epubxp.com/i/853381

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 17 of 38

Keynote set for Cloud+ conference Tim Purpura, VP & GROUP PUBLISHER tpurpura@securitysystemsnews.com Brook Taliaferro, EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Paul Ragusa, EDITOR pragusa@securitysystemsnews.com Spencer Ives, MANAGING EDITOR sives@securitysystemsnews.com Peter Macijauskas, E-MEDIA MANAGER pmacijauskas@unitedpublications.com SEND PRESS RELEASES TO: EDITORIAL OFFICE editor@securitysystemsnews.com Tel: 207-846-0600 ADVERTISING OFFICE Security Systems News 106 Lafayette St., PO Box 998 Yarmouth, ME 04096 Tel: 207-846-0600 NEW ENGLAND STATES AND EASTERN CANADA Tim Purpura, VP & GROUP PUBLISHER Tel: 207-846-0600, Ext. 217 tpurpura@securitysystemsnews.com MIDWEST AND EASTERN STATES Brad Durost, REGIONAL SALES MANAGER 207-846-0600, Ext. 274 bdurost@securitysystemsnews.com WESTERN STATES AND WESTERN CANADA Rob Akert, REGIONAL SALES DIRECTOR Tel: 623-376-9513 rakert@securitysystemsnews.com MARKETPLACE SALES Cath Daggett Tel: 207-846-0600, Ext. 300 cdaggett@securitysystemsnews.com Lise Dubois, PRODUCTION DIRECTOR ldubois@unitedpublications.com SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION www.securitysystemsnews.com/subscribe Security Systems News PO Box 47860 Plymouth, MN 55447-0860 Tel: 800-869-6882 Publishers of specialized business publications PRESIDENT & CEO EXECUTIVE VP J.G. Taliaferro Jr. Rick Rector For custom reprints or digital reuse, please contact our reprint partner, The YGS Group, by calling 717-505-9701, Ext. 100, or by visiting unitedpublications@theygsgroup.com by 2021. We will be delving into topics like cloud-based VMS at Cloud+, so please visit www.ssncloudplus.com for more information on the conference, includ- ing the soon-to-be-announced educa- tional program and speakers, as well as the many sponsorship opportunities available. S ECURITY SYSTEMS News is excited to announce this year's Cloud+ key- note speaker—John Yeoh, research director, Americas, for the Cloud Secu- rity Alliance, an organization dedicated to defi ning and raising awareness of best prac- tices to help ensure a secure cloud computing environment. With more than 15 years of experience in research and technol- ogy, Yeoh has spent time as an analyst, research- er, and executive in academia and govern- ment, and is a technologist and published author with areas of expertise in cyber- security, cloud computing, information security, and next generation technolo- gies (IoT, Big Data, SecaaS, Quantum). His thought leadership has been pre- sented in the Wall Street Journal, Forbes, SC Magazine, USA Today, Information Week and others, and he sits on numer- ous government and industry technology committees—with the FCC, NIST, ISO, and CSA, for example—in the develop- ment of cloud security standards, tools and solutions. Yeoh will kick-off the 3rd annual Cloud+ conference—returning to Austin, Texas, Nov. 28-29—the one show in the security industry that focuses solely on everything cloud. Cloud adoption is spreading through- out the security industry, as manufactur- ers and systems integrators alike realize the potential of cloud computing. In this issue alone, we have a cover story on Canon, which just launched a new com- pany that is harnessing the cloud, and a Stats story on page two that looks at how the growth of cloud-based VMS. An interesting fi nding is that the increasing market share for cloud-based VMS will overtake on-premise deployments of VMS Paul Ragusa Most-read stories at www.securitysystemsnews.com from June 19 to July 16, 2017 1. U.S. Security Associates to showcase robots 2. Select Security to acquire AlarmForce's US subscribers 3. Mountain Alarm opens new HQ 4. Sandy Springs considers fi ning dealers for false alarms 5. Security 101 partners with manufacturers to host seminars 6. Hikvision stays on top in 2016 global market share 7. News Poll: Security and smart home spaces see a range of customers 8. Vivint announces new campus, new solution 9. Titan Alarm acquires two 10. Convergint acquires ISS Conference November 28-29, 2017 Lost Pines Resort Austin, TX Save the date! www.ssncloudplus.com EDITORIAL 11 SECURITY SYSTEMS NEWS AUGUST 2017 www.securitysystemsnews.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Security Systems News - AUG 2017