Security Systems News

APR 2017

Security Systems News is a monthly business newspaper that reaches 25,100 security installers, product distributors, central stations, engineers & architects, and security consultants. Our editorial coverage focuses on breaking news in all major se

Issue link: http://ssn.epubxp.com/i/803916

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 19 of 54

professional in the industry and learn more about them, introduce them to the industry at large. Just above our "Five Questions" article, you will also fi nd our People News sec- tion, where we include notices of recently hired or promoted professionals in the industry. Hiring: An important matter Most-read stories at www.securitysystemsnews.com from Feb. 14 to March 14, 2017 1. Guardian Alarm acquired 2. Red Hawk makes two acquisitions 3. Genetec poised for big year 4. Johnson Controls publishes cybersecurity 'call to action' 5. East Coast Integrated Systems: new name, new focus 6. Hikvision to open R&D center in Montreal, research institute in Silicon Valley 7. Everbridge acquires IDV Solutions 8. The challenge of hiring 9. General Security acquires New York Merchants Protective 10. Smart home product sales soaring W HAT IS your biggest business chal- lenge today? This is a question that I rou- tinely ask when talking to companies in the industry. I've found that it gives me a unique perspective into what a company has on its plate and a hint toward some of the problems affect- ing the industry. Time and time again, I hear, "It's fi nding good employees." I heard this response so many times that I picked a few different companies, of varying sizes to hear about how they approach that task of fi nding the right employees. That article, "The challenge of fi nding the right people," appeared in last month's issue of Security Systems News. The problems that affect hiring can vary, I've seen. For some, it is needing to fi nd qualified and experiences technicians. Others aren't fi nding the right salespeople. It could even be the diffi culty of appealing to a younger applicant pool—the millen- nials. We wanted to open up this topic a bit more in our latest SSN News Poll, which you'll fi nd on page 3. There, 81 percent of respondents said that hiring is a chal- lenge for them. Just more than half—52 percent said they are currently looking to add on staff. What are companies looking for in "the right candidate"? Fifty-three percent of respondents said fi tting into the company Spencer Ives culture is most important. Finding the right people is important. Here at SSN we try to highlight this in a couple of different ways. At the back of this publication, on page 47, you will fi nd a column that we do every month, called "Five Questions." We use this piece to talk with a recently hired or promoted Tim Purpura, VP & GROUP PUBLISHER tpurpura@securitysystemsnews.com Brook Taliaferro, EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Paul Ragusa, EDITOR pragusa@securitysystemsnews.com Spencer Ives, MANAGING EDITOR sives@securitysystemsnews.com Peter Macijauskas, E-MEDIA MANAGER pmacijauskas@unitedpublications.com SEND PRESS RELEASES TO: EDITORIAL OFFICE editor@securitysystemsnews.com Tel: 207-846-0600 ADVERTISING OFFICE Security Systems News 106 Lafayette St., PO Box 998 Yarmouth, ME 04096 Tel: 207-846-0600 NEW ENGLAND STATES AND EASTERN CANADA Tim Purpura, VP & GROUP PUBLISHER Tel: 207-846-0600, Ext. 217 tpurpura@securitysystemsnews.com MIDWEST AND EASTERN STATES Brad Durost, REGIONAL SALES MANAGER 207-846-0600, Ext. 274 bdurost@securitysystemsnews.com WESTERN STATES AND WESTERN CANADA Rob Akert, REGIONAL SALES DIRECTOR Tel: 623-376-9513 rakert@securitysystemsnews.com MARKETPLACE SALES Cath Daggett Tel: 207-846-0600, Ext. 300 cdaggett@securitysystemsnews.com Lise Dubois, PRODUCTION DIRECTOR ldubois@unitedpublications.com SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION www.securitysystemsnews.com/subscribe Security Systems News PO Box 47860 Plymouth, MN 55447-0860 Tel: 800-869-6882 Publishers of specialized business publications PRESIDENT & CEO EXECUTIVE VP J.G. Taliaferro Jr. Rick Rector For custom reprints or digital reuse, please contact our reprint partner, The YGS Group, by calling 717-505-9701, Ext. 100, or by visiting unitedpublications@theygsgroup.com DahuaSecurity.com/ProvenSurveillance EDITORIAL 13 SECURITY SYSTEMS NEWS APRIL 2017 www.securitysystemsnews.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Security Systems News - APR 2017