Security Systems News

MAR 2017

Security Systems News is a monthly business newspaper that reaches 25,100 security installers, product distributors, central stations, engineers & architects, and security consultants. Our editorial coverage focuses on breaking news in all major se

Issue link: http://ssn.epubxp.com/i/788607

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 19 of 44

tipping point as cloud-based biometrics, secure mobile credentials, and fintech innovation coalesce into consumer-centric solutions offering previously unobtainable levels of accessibility, security, and individ- ual control over PII (Personally Identifi able Information)." For more on the growth of biometrics, see the Stats article on page 2. Big year ahead for biometrics Tim Purpura, VP & GROUP PUBLISHER tpurpura@securitysystemsnews.com Brook Taliaferro, EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Paul Ragusa, EDITOR pragusa@securitysystemsnews.com Spencer Ives, MANAGING EDITOR sives@securitysystemsnews.com Peter Macijauskas, E-MEDIA MANAGER pmacijauskas@unitedpublications.com SEND PRESS RELEASES TO: EDITORIAL OFFICE editor@securitysystemsnews.com Tel: 207-846-0600 ADVERTISING OFFICE Security Systems News 106 Lafayette St., PO Box 998 Yarmouth, ME 04096 Tel: 207-846-0600 NEW ENGLAND STATES AND EASTERN CANADA Tim Purpura, VP & GROUP PUBLISHER Tel: 207-846-0600, Ext. 217 tpurpura@securitysystemsnews.com MIDWEST AND EASTERN STATES Brad Durost, REGIONAL SALES MANAGER 207-846-0600, Ext. 274 bdurost@securitysystemsnews.com WESTERN STATES AND WESTERN CANADA Rob Akert, REGIONAL SALES DIRECTOR Tel: 623-376-9513 rakert@securitysystemsnews.com MARKETPLACE SALES Cath Daggett Tel: 207-846-0600, Ext. 300 cdaggett@securitysystemsnews.com Lise Dubois, PRODUCTION DIRECTOR ldubois@unitedpublications.com SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION www.securitysystemsnews.com/subscribe Security Systems News PO Box 47860 Plymouth, MN 55447-0860 Tel: 800-869-6882 Publishers of specialized business publications PRESIDENT & CEO EXECUTIVE VP J.G. Taliaferro Jr. Rick Rector For custom reprints or digital reuse, please contact our reprint partner, The YGS Group, by calling 717-505-9701, Ext. 100, or by visiting unitedpublications@theygsgroup.com Most-read stories at www.securitysystemsnews.com from Jan. 20 to Feb. 14, 2017 1. Convergint starts year strong with acquisition 2. Nortek Security & Control unveils new hybrid panel 3. Big year ahead for biometrics 4. Research shows continued growth in smart home market 5. Allied Universal CEO talks latest moves, company's future 6. Alarm.com to develop drones 7. SafeStreets USA changes executive line-up 8. AvantGuard offers hybrid monitoring options 9. MONI executive promoted 10. ONKÖL begins production B IOMETRICS ARE coming of age, and 2017 has the potential to be a big year for the continued adoption of biometric technologies, according to Acu- ity Market Intelligence, which released its "Ten Top Trends for Biomet- rics and Digital Identity" for 2017 last month. "Biometrics and digi- tal identity are often perceived as threats to privacy and security," Maxine Most, principal of Acuity Market intelligence said in the announcement. "However, taken together these technologies have the potential to enhance privacy, increase personal data control, and shift power relative to the monetization of consumer data." No. 2 on the top 10 list is iris biomet- rics, which will have a "breakout year as smartphone availability drives consumer acceptance up and price points down," according to Acuity. This is not surprising. During Security Systems News' Battle of the Biometrics ses- sion at the 2016 TechSec Solutions confer- ence, our panel of expert judges chose iris technology as the top pick over other bio- metrics, including fi ngerprint and facial. And at this year's TechSec, which is Feb. 27-28 in Delray Beach, Fla., the reigning champion from last year's session, Blaine Frederick, VP of product management for Eyelock, returns to continue the conversa- tion with Jeff Kohler, product line and busi- ness development director for Princeton Paul Ragusa Identity, as they look at how lower price points are increasing demand and opening up new applications across many different verticals. Another interesting fi nding, and one that does not surprise us here at SSN—the cre- ator of the Cloud+ conference—is the rise of cloud-based biometrics. According to Most, "2017 will be a DahuaSecurity.com/ProvenSurveillance EDITORIAL 15 SECURITY SYSTEMS NEWS MARCH 2017 www.securitysystemsnews.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Security Systems News - MAR 2017